Award recognizes outstanding political activism

Activist of the Year Award2022 Activist of the Year

The 2022 Activist of the Year will be named at CSEA's Annual Conference.

The Richard C. Bartlett Activist of the Year Award recognizes members who vigorously advocate in political activities or specific causes important to the mission and goals of CSEA.

Nomination criteria

Nominees must have performed any significant act of a humanitarian nature:

  • Assisted in building the union
  • Helped to put forward the face of CSEA into the community
  • Attended mobilizing events or volunteered in campaigns
  • Promoted the Victory Club
  • Advanced the labor movement in general by participating in coalitions or other rally-building partnerships
  • Involved other rank and file members in union activities

Award recipients:

2021 Daisy Bennett, Placentia-Yorba Linda Chapter 293

2020 No awards due to COVID-19 Pandemic

2019 David Kong, Monterey COE Chapter 35

2017 Peggy Wray, Lakeside Chapter 240

2016 Jerry Chames, Kerman Unified Chapter 279

2015 Sandra Rivera, Rio Hondo College Chapter 477

2014 Lora Lee, Desert Sands Chapter 106

2013 Mary Lavezzoli, Old Adobe Chapter 646

2012 Rebecca Hadley, Monterey COE Chapter 35

2011 David Kong, Monterey COE Chapter 35

2010 Debra Cook-Lewis, Wilsona Chapter 723

2009 Eunice Grigsby, LACOE Paraeducators Chapter 624

2009 Isa Wiechmann, Sylvan Chapter 73

2008 Eddie Padilla, Merced City Schools Chapter 530

2008 Michael Casias, Merced City Schools Chapter 530

2007 Ben Valdepena, Yucaipa-Calimesa Chapter 209

2006 Rebecca Scheel, Gilroy Chapter 69

2005 Jane Bausa, San Diego Paraeducators Chapter 759

2004 Tony Rojas, Turlock Chapter 56